Why I don’t want to kill Sims

When I was a kid, I had an encounter of the original Sims game. At first, I wasn’t interested in it, but I made up my mind & went for it. It’s playing Barbie dolls, only in the computer. There was one incident that made me vow to not kill any Sim again, unless I want it for a story or I just don’t like a Sim.

While I was playing with the Goth family (pre-Sims 2), I had Bella Goth cook some lunch. Then she burnt it and a fire broke out. It happened a few times I played with them, but this one would change everything. Mortimer, her husband, came in along with their kid Cassandra and a firefighter. It got so worse that even poor Morty got caught by the flames, and perished. It was silly of me to let them die a terrible death.  Some years later, I found out that Morty would do the same thing, that burned the old Goth house and his parents down! I didn’t knew Maxis and EA Games would do this, and my incident foreshadows it!

It wasn’t intentional, I know, but this incident made me to come up a resolve: no more killing Sims except for old age, storytelling and the Sims that I don’t like much (I got this funny idea of killing off nasty and evil Nick and Vita Alto of the Sims 3, I want to spare young Holly though (she’s a lot nicer compared to her bad seed parents, insert evil laugh!)).

Example of Fire-related Death in the Sims 1: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bqfQSsFUr-Q

Leave a Reply

